The Infinite Zenith

When life demands your A game, bring your A+ game

Spring 2014 Anime

It’s been nearly three weeks into the Winter 2014 season, which I’m presently enjoying. Nonetheless, eyes always turn towards the future’s offerings, and this season, it’s no different. I recall that in 2012, I completely passed over the Spring offerings, as nothing had caught my interest at the time. Since then, I’ve picked up Hyouka and Upotte!, as those series later caught my eye. Being the procrastinator I am, I’ve still yet to actually start those, but Spring 2014 might be a good time to do so. Of course, I may also pick up more anime from Spring 2014 in the future, as time permits.

  • Carefully note that The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan isn’t on the current version, contradicting previous claims that the anime was going to be a Spring 2014 release. It’s still a little early into the game to be predicting when The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan will air; while I would like for it to come out sooner, realistically speaking, the actual release date will be a ways off, I imagine.

A cursory glance shows that there is are two anime that I’m likely to follow right now for the Spring 2014 session as far as regular programming goes. These shows are Sidonia no Kishi and Broken Blade; given that I will only be planning on following this one series at present, I should be able to catch up with Hyouka and Upotte! quite soon. On the OVA and Blu-Ray movie side, things look a little busier. Girls und Panzer: Kore ga Hontou no Anzio-sen desu!Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn: Over the Rainbow and the AnoHana movie are set for releases in the spring, alongside Puella Magi Madoka Magica: Rebellion, which means that once April and May roll around, this blog is going to light up like a Christmas tree with all the new content. I resolve to get my reflections (and their high-resolution images) out for those as quickly as possible, perhaps faster than any other blog out there. As for the Tamako Love Story movie, while I am looking forward to it, the only practical way for me to see it at present is to await a Blu-Ray release, meaning that it’s so far into the future that I will set it aside for the present.

Broken Blade

Broken Blade needs no introduction: it’s about a young man named Rygart Arrow, an ‘un-sorcerer’ born into a world where people can use ‘magic’. This magic is the ability to control and empower quartz, doing many things from creating light to operating machinery to riding giant mecha called ‘Golems’. Rygart, however, is one of the few exceptions; he cannot utilize quartz, making many aspects of life difficult as well as being looked down upon by the rest of society. Despite this ‘limitation’, in his youth he managed to befriend Hodr and Sigyn, the future King and Queen of the Krisna Kingdom and Zess, the younger brother of the Secretary of War of the Athens Commonwealth. Years later, Rygart is reunited with Hodr and Sigyn where he learns the Athens Commonwealth has begun an invasion of Krisna. Rygart is also shocked to learn that their old friend, Zess, is leading one of the strike forces. While at the capital, Rygart discovers that he has the ability to pilot a recently discovered ancient golem which cannot be piloted by magic users. Despite its ancient origins, the golem possesses capabilities and systems far more advanced than any modern golem, and could be key to turning the tide of battle. While hesitant at first, Rygart soon gets involved in the war between Krisna and Athens, in an attempt to save Hodr and Sigyn, and Zess.

  • The last time I watched this, it was 2011, and I had just passed my driving exam. This show thus associated my early driving experiences with Rygert’s gradual familiarisation with the Delphine, an ancient Golem. I found the movie to be quite entertaining, and I am quite curious to see how the series will fit into an episodic format.

Sidonia no Kishi

A portion of humanity managed to escape using enormous “seed ships” like the Sidonia after the Gauna, a strange alien race with no known method of communication, destroyed the solar system. This evacuation allowed humanity to maintain their population while drifting through space for a millenium. Nagate Tanikaze is a young man who has been raised deep in the bowels of the ship. When he goes into training to pilot the huge robotic weapons known as Gardes, Nagate is entrusted with piloting the legendary unit known as Tsugumori. Nagate and his fellow pilots put their lives on the line against the Gauna, in the ultimate battle for the survival of humanity.

  • In English, this show is The Knights of Sidonia, and the premise is very interesting: I haven’t seen any good space-type science fiction anime for a while, and this one looks promising. There are a handful of good mecha shows in Spring, although the Summer 2014 season looks very solid: of all the shows listed, Kantai Collection (Kan Colle), Glasslip, Aldnoah Zero and Sword Art Online II are the shows I’ve got my eye on. For the present, I’ll follow two shows for now and use the additional time to play catch up with some other series I’ve got backlogged…

4 responses to “Spring 2014 Anime

  1. Wild Goose January 18, 2014 at 17:34

    hmmm. Looks interesting enough…

    I’ll probably try to follow Knights of Sidonia, Love Live season 2, and probably Mahouka, if only because siblingcest is one of my few personal kinks. ;p

  2. Zephuros January 18, 2014 at 20:27

    ain’t checking the charts and/or compiled PVs until it’s near the end of the winter season xDDD

    anyways, from that chart, it’s Mekaku City Actors because I watch some Kagerou Project PVs, Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei, Black Bullet… maybe Date A LIVE II, No Game No LIfe, that’s it for now….
    (when will Barakamon coooooome >.>!?)

  3. ninetybeats January 19, 2014 at 01:28

    How cliché it may sound I’m looking forward to Ryuugaajou. With A-1 at the wheel it might turn out decent. I wonder how SHAFT is going to handle Mekaku City Actors. SHAFT can create really beautiful stuff, like Nisekoi which is airing as we speak.
    I’m also interested in Mahouka Koukou, despite the incest theme described in the synopsis, Madhouse can produce quality shows. Yet it can be a hit or miss with ‘magic’ themed shows for me, especially when they throw the magical slang words at me.
    BONES, always a must watch, with their entry Hitsugihime and Love Live! s2 is an absolute must watch. Already some pretty interesting stuff to check out in the spring that’s for sure.

Please provide feedback!

