The Infinite Zenith

Where insights on anime, games, academia and life dare to converge

MG 00 Qan[T] Reflection

Otafest 2011 Lite is occuring right now, and although I’m in a different building on the other side of campus debugging my computational models for the LINDSAY project, I cannot help but recall my own interests in anime and how they humbly began with Ah! My Goddess, and how I picked up Gundam 00 when it first aired in Fall 2007. It’s been four years since then, and the Gundam 00 Movie itself has come and gone; for me, the 00 Qan[T] was the highlight of the show; despite only making an appearance near the end of the movie, it is a machine that symbolises hope and mutual understanding. In January 2011, I had picked up the MG 00 Qan[T] at a local store in Chinatown. My heart was originally set on the HG 00 Qan[T], but as the vendours only had the MG, I decided to go with the MG on the spur of the moment.

  • The completed 00 Qan[T] is a sight to behold. The kit comes with a lot of decals and seals to boost the level of detail, and even though the kit is unpainted, it nonetheless looks very impressive. That said, the level of detail in how the arms and legs operate make the kit a lot studier and stiffer than the HG kits. I was particularly pleased with the mechanisms in the legs and the wrists on the arms, which rotate independently to give a greater degree of freedom with respect to movement. Here, it stands shoulder-to-shoulder with the MG 00 Gundam.

  • Here’s another close-up of the MG 00 Qan[T]. It took me an eternity to get all the decals and seals in to the right places, but it was worth it. I may eventually go in with a fine-liner and ink all of the subtle points on the unit, but for now, the Gundam looks pretty good. I especially like the 3D effects of the chest piece: the etched words give a holographic effect when lit from the outside.

It took me two days to build the 00 Qan[T]: contrasting my experience with the HG 00 Raiser, the MG was far more intricate and far more challenging to build and pose. The mass of the shield means that posing it will result it leaning off to a side or even destablising the stand it came with, although since then, I’ve come to figure out how to balance the entire thing out by positioning the shield accordingly, although the model isn’t the most posable one in the world. Ultimately, the level of detail in the MG is impressive: if there is anything the 00 Qan[T] succeeds at, it is capturing the power of the Gundam from the movie and bringing those details to life.

  • The LED units take 2 SR41 batteries each to operate. The cost ended up being more than the LEDs themselves, and nearly half the cost of the MG 00 Qan[T]. They weren’t kidding when they said that anime hobbies tend to drain one’s resources really quickly. That said, I opted to go with the SAL shipping method to cut down on costs: despite it being more inexpensive, I was actually supremely impressed with how fast the SAL shipping method was. In the end, I ended up saving money and got the LEDs pretty quickly.

  • I remember that when I first built the kit, I was having trouble maintaining a pose that wouldn’t result in the 00 Qan[T] falling over. While awesome dynamic poses are possible, this pose is a sturdy one, suggesting the 00 Qan[T] landing to face an opponent. Of course, other awesome poses are also possible without causing the unit to tip over.

Despite its awesomeness, I had always felt to some extent that the 00 Qan[T] was incomplete; in response to this, pre-ordered the MG LEDs from HobbySearch during September when they were announced. They arrived a month later, and having installed the lights, I am now the proud owner of a kit that puts the “Master” in the Master Grade line of Gundam models.

Please provide feedback!

