The Infinite Zenith

Where insights on anime, games, academia and life dare to converge

Windows 8 and future directions

It took me a few hours yesterday, but after a bit of elbow grease to put the hardware together and much automation from the installation media, I was able to get the new computer up and running. The unique hard drive configuration meant I was not able to simply pop in the installation disk and let the system run its course: instead, I would need to specially tell the system to create new user accounts and programs on my secondary drive. Before I could do even this, I realised that the secondary drive was missing. It was seen by the BIOS, but the system did not recognise it. Thus, I would use the disk manager to assign it a disk letter. Once this was done, I created the XML answer file required to relocate the user profiles, and from there, it was smooth sailing. Windows 8 immediately gives the impression of being a clean system. Granted, the new Start Menu will take some getting used to, but once customised, it is rather more useful. Compared to Windows 7, Windows 8 is far more touch driven, making some essential features difficult to perform with the traditional mouse-and-keyboard setup. There are numerous features that seem specially tailored for the touch UI, although truth be told, this is not sufficient to really present an issue. Presently, my recommendation is that for individuals who know their way around Windows well, Windows 8 represents a bold step in making the Windows OS more responsive, clean and secure. For everyone else, Windows 8 will take some getting used to, but eventually, with a bit open-mindedness and practise, Windows 8 will be just as intuitive to use as Windows 7 (even more so for tablet owners).

  • The transition from Windows 7 to Windows 8 was initially unnerving, and I wondered to myself whether or not I would regret the decision. At the time of writing, I am two days into the Windows 8 experience, and I only have good things to say about the new OS. I stand by my claims that an open mind and some expertise will go a long way in making Windows 8 a powerful, useful OS for home use. For business and development, Windows 7 should remain the preferred choice, simply because it offers a balance between familiarity and the inclusion of modern security implements: for instance, I have yet to find out how well Windows 8 handles the demands of software implementation using IDEs.

  • Madobe Yuu and Madobe Ai are the new Windows 8 mascots. I’m not sure about the exact reason behind why the computers depicted use a cubic case rather than the traditional rectangular cases. My conjecture is that this is for economy of space, but the limited size also would make it harder to add fans and implements necessary for high-performance. These computers would likely be for standard tasks, such as word processing and web browsing. As for me, the construction of my rig utilised a standard case, with enough space to accommodate sufficient air flow to keep the components cool. The contruction process proceeded roughly as depicted in this video.

  • I am still a desktop person through and through: the perfect balance between economy and performance, desktop machines offer unmatched performance for its price range at the expense of mobility. Thus, my preferred configuration is to have a portable tablet device (for high mobility) and pair it with an immensely powerful desktop (for high performance). I am not particularly fond of laptops owing to their reduced battery life, and slightly steeper cost-to-performance ratio, but this is strictly a matter of personal preference.

  • Granted, my current tablet is a second generation iPad. Despite being in service for nearly two years now and thus, being eclipsed by the fourth generation iPad (and every Windows 8 tablet on the table), this second generation iPad has done a range of impressive things, including providing me the means to give my thesis defense talk and acting as a video conference platform where required.

From a hardware side of things, I’ve only mentioned ‘unique configuration’; my inner Gundam fan shows when I note that my machine is similar to the Nu Gundam. Piloted by Amuro Ray, this mobile suit was one of the most powerful Gundams ever fielded, being designed by Amuro himself. Incorporating the new Psycoframe technology, the Gundam could channel and physically manifest a Newtype’s mental energies, allowing Amuro to single-handedly engage the entire Neo Zeon fleet and repel Axis during the final moments of Char’s Counterattack. Similar to the Nu Gundam, the new computer was custom designed to my specifications, emphasising cost effectiveness alongside versatility and reliability. This machine will set future posts in a new direction, as I will continue exploring new directions with respect to gaming. These posts will make an appearance as I make sufficient progress in new games and accumulate a collection of screenshots. For the present, I will continue providing updates with respect to anime and other various topics: for the present, I am following four Spring 2013 Anime, and have two other series in reserve. As I am the most caught up on RDG: Red Data Girl and Yuyushiki, reviews of those will be going up shortly. As well, I continue to find myself in awe of the fact that this new computer can start up and load to the login menu faster than the monitor can warm up.

Please provide feedback!

