The Infinite Zenith

Where insights on anime, games, academia and life dare to converge

Gundam Unicorn Finale- More news and information

While the exact release date to the Gundam Unicorn finale still remains a mystery, attendees of the Sunrise Festival have noted that this finale will be a full 90 minutes in length. The specific events and outcomes of the finale aren’t discussed in any details, although some minutiae about episode seven have been disclosed. Among these include the fact that the Banshee Norn will deploy its NT-D somewhere during combat. Moreover, the Sinanju, with its MA attachment, will definitely be present, and is said to bear resemblance to the Dendrobium (a truly massive and frightening attachment for the RX-78GP03 that gave it overwhelming bombardment capabilities). Cameo appearances of Gundams from the F91 era will also be shown, and mobile suits from the ZZ-era are said to be more common. Lastly, the animation for combat sequences will be made using traditional techniques rather than CG methods.

  • With the approximate release date known, I can safely say that Gundam UC is UC for a reason (the university of somewhere that begins with a C is the university I’m attending!); beginning in my first undergraduate year, it has followed me through more than the duration of my undergraduate program. Whenever someone mentions Gundam 00, I think back to my favourite memories in high school, whether it was biology class or lunch hours spent with friends. Soon, mention of Gundam Unicorn will evoke memories of university. Of course, that leads me to wonder what Gundam I will be following (if I still choose to follow it) as I move into the next phase of my life.

The finale is still to be titled Over the rainbow, a reference to The Wizard of Oz. At an hour-and-a-half in length, there remains a lot of material to cover. These tidbits of information make things interesting: my primary expectations from the finale will be spectacular battle sequences, and a satisfying conclusion (specifically, something that wraps up the series’ outcome reasonably well). Beyond this, I also imagine that we may see how Gundam Unicorn transitions into the F91-era. There is still quite a bit of time to go before the finale is released, but I am quite looking forward to seeing this series off on a high note, and from what we’ve seen so far, I’m (cautiously so, because of OreImo) optimistic that Gundam Unicorn will be an OVA series I will name unconditionally as worth watching, even a decade from now.

Please provide feedback!

