The Infinite Zenith

Where insights on anime, games, academia and life dare to converge

A Jockey is riding Mio: Left 4 Dead 2 and K-On! mods

Six months ago, I got Left 4 Dead 2 on a sale for five dollars on Steam on March 20. That turned out to be quite an eventful day, as spring was beginning, and my copy of Aimer’s RE:I AM had arrived. I had also received an NSERC for the then upcoming summer. At the time, I was up to my eyeballs in software engineering projects, databases assignments and an honours thesis, so I resolved not to play my new acquisition until my semester had ended. While that turned out to be a wise decision (as my GPA for the year attests), once the summer began, I was occupied with Crysis and Battlefield: Bad Company 2; paired with my research work, I did not have time to play Left 4 Dead 2, save an introductory game I played with a friend. This would change, however, on June 13; it was the day of my convocation, and I was taking the morning off from research. I decided to give Left 4 Dead 2 a try, and was immediately enthralled by the game. The premise is simple enough: shoot one’s way with a team through hordes of infected using a combination of strats and teamwork to reach a safe room and reach the extraction point.

  • The addition of K-On! concert posters adds a very nice touch to the game, suggesting that the Houkago Tea Time girls were set for a glorious concert before the zombie apocalypse happened. It would be possible to write an entirely custom story to accommodate this, but maybe now is not the time.

  • One of the absolute most amusing aspects of the K-On! mods is that, if using the skin mods and name change mod, it is possible to have a jockey riding Mio, which, of course, has hilarious implications. Aside from the fact that I’d like to ride Mio, this phrase was sufficiently humorous as to lend its name to this post’s title.

  • My preferred play-style in L4D2 is to play as the sniper, hanging back and clearing up large groups of infected from a safe distance to give my squad a chance to take down any high-value targets, such as the spitters, jockeys, chargers, smokers, boomers and tanks. As for witches, that is something I ask my team to handle, since the scoped rifles aren’t suited for taking down witches quickly.

  • There is nothing quite like tearing apart tanks and chargers while rocking out to the absolute best of K-On!. The fact that electric guitars are in fact usable weapons in the native game is icing on the cake.

  • Azu-nyan! Azusa replaces Zoey in this mod and makes several appearances during the game, providing sniper fire for the other survivors at some points in the game. My L4D2 experience will be complete once I find an M60 in the campaign.

The game is incredibly entertaining, but I eventually recalled one thing that would make the game even more entertaining. I had seen mods for the game that added substance to it, and recalling that K-On! mods were avaliable, I went about installing the mods that replaced the survivors with Yui, Ritsu, Mio and Mugi. Another mod changed the UI’s names to accurately reflect the new character skins. Lastly, I added on a special mod that changed the music during the concert sequence to classic K-On! hits such as U & I and No Thank You!. Taken together, one of the most acclaimed games around had just gotten even more amusing to play: now, I was fighting through endless zombies with a high school band who desired nothing more than to make music and enjoy sweets after their classes had ended. It adds a certain twist to Left 4 Dead 2: while the unmodded game was fun, the modded game simply becomes a riot. Naturally, K-On! haters are using the three dozer build and can be ignored, and I should probably get around to formally explain what the three dozer build itself is.

Please provide feedback!

