The Infinite Zenith

Where insights on anime, games, academia and life dare to converge

Servant x Service: First Episode Impressions

Lucy Yamagami, Yutaka Hasebe, and Saya Miyoshi are introduced to the Ward Office as new civil servants and are placed under the care of their upperclassman Taishi Ichimiya, who is rather unreliable. Yutaka is very relaxed to the point of slacking off every chance he gets, while Saya is very nervous because this is her first job. Lucy is introduced to Megumi Chihaya, who is a very low-key and emotionless person. After the first few hours or so, the three newbies meet up again and share their disappointments. Saya was caught up in a long story with Mrs. Tanaka, unable to escape; Lucy was scolded by a customer for taking too long in directing her to the right window; Yutaka was disheartened to discover that he couldn’t slack off as frequently as he would’ve liked. Later however, Lucy is shown making great progress, much to Saya’s admiration. Afterwards, Yutaka, Taishi, and Saya find out that she’s a modern day Jugemu (a great source of embarrassment for her), due to her parents not being able to decide on one first name. Lucy reveals that the real reason she joined the civil service was to get revenge on the civil servant who carelessly allowed her birth certificate to pass without raising a single question about her name. Hasebe begins calling her by the the first part of her name, to Lucy’s great displeasure. After rescuing Lucy twice from some customers, her opinion of him changes, until he begins to make fun of her name again. Taishi and Saya later comment that although Lucy holds a grudge against the civil service, she’s actually suited for the job.

  • This image depicts the characters: from left to right, we have Saya Miyosh, Lucy Yamagami and Yutaka Hasebe. While I’ve never held any community service positions as a mandatory requirement, I was once a teaching assistant at a Chinese Academy, and are presently doing development on computer models of human physiology. As time permits, I also volunteer at events hosted by my faculty. I continue to believe that a mandatory community service requirement for high school is meaningless because students who are involved usually are doing so for the sake of getting credit rather than actually putting their fullest into learning and doing a good job.

  • Taishi Ichimiya is an experienced member of the staff who manages the newcomers, having nearly eight years of experience, but nonetheless feels like a beginner. Continuing on from my previous bullet, I’m sure I have (unintentionally) stepped on a few toes with my assertions. I mean no harm, and merely am expressing that a volunteer is only particularly useful if they are participating of their own volition. This is because back when I was a teaching assistant, I also managed a group of volunteers, and I found that volunteers who chose to be at the academy to help were far more helpful than volunteers who were there solely for satisfying credit requirements.

  • Lucy approaches her job with the mindset I’ve always assumed people to take when in the workforce, and as such, it was quite surprising to learn that most people actually act more like Hasebe.

  • This moment simply had to be included in my reflection: the obvious strain seen in the buttons on Lucy’s shirt attest to…how heavy Lucy’s assets are (^_^;) I’m sure someone else could probably write a better figure caption, but in all seriousness, I included this image simply because it is unexpected relative to what I normally post. I don’t do this more often because it’s quite difficult to write about things I’m not used to writing about.

  • Where I am, there is a federal building downtown that handles government-related matters. Unlike the tiny building in Servant x Service, this building is imposing and was opened in 1978, costing 45.8 million dollars to build. Located in the eastern side of the city centre, the building is eight stories high and has 520000 square feet of usable space. Of course, anyone who guesses the identity of this building will know my current location, but good luck with that (^_-)-☆

  • Of the three newcomers, Lucy is the most naïve and low guarded, but also the most dedicated and determined. Hasebe is characterised by his mythical slacker tendencies, and Saya a soft-spoken girl who tends to keep her opinions of other people to herself, but tends to get stuck listening to lengthy stories from clients.

  • I absolutely hate telemarketers, but I do my utmost to try and keep things civil. The thing that bothers me most about them is that they tend to call right as I’m about to sit down to dinner. Lately, thanks to caller ID, I’ve had next to no need to handle them, merely dismissing calls from unfamiliar numbers with funny area codes.

  • My day goes something like “work for 50 minutes, stretch legs, and every three hours, take a ten-minute stop, take hour break for lunch, repeat pattern until day is over or until a sufficient amount of work is done”. Unlike Hasebe, I have a tendency of forgetting I have breaks, but then again, an engaging project and a 27-inch 2560 by 1440 Cinema display is sufficient to make most wish to keep on working.

  • I can’t see myself doing a civil service job, but that’s only because my interests and skills don’t lie in that field. Thus, anime like Servant x Service offer (however dramatised and fictionalised) one perspective on what some of these occupations are like.

  • With reasonably good animation and solid humour, I can see myself following this anime. The fanservice aspect doesn’t appear to be that substantial, meaning I should be able to watch this without raising eyebrows from my coworkers.

Servant x Service represents an interesting departure from the anime I typically watch in that it’s set in the workplace, with adults rather than high school students. However, despite having held several positions over the past few years, none of these positions were in the civil service, and as such Servant x Service isn’t something I can readily relate to: I am a developer by trade with a degree in the health sciences. Nonetheless, the concept of a workplace was sufficiently unique to get me into this series, and after a single episode, I will probably continue following it (if I wasn’t to follow it, I would have never written this post). Insofar, I am treated to a reasonably light-hearted, enteraining series where humour lies at the forefront of everything, whether it be Lucy’s reactions to others mocking her name, or Hasebe’s constant slacking off. Of course, the series also goes to note that, like any other occupation, the civil service jobs has its ups and downs: on a bad day, a client may lose their cool with the staff, and on a good day, the client thanks the staff for a job well done. Contrast this to being  a developer, where a bad day sees code crash, or fail to compile. There are good days: when the code works, I generally stretch and take a walk about the building where I work. From what I’ve seen so far, Servant x Service appears to be an excellent series. It’s time to get rolling: this was released back in the summer, if I’m not mistaken, and my tendencies to procrastinate on anime are legendary amongst those who know me.

2 responses to “Servant x Service: First Episode Impressions

  1. medievalotaku November 12, 2013 at 16:40

    Reblogged this on Medieval Otaku and commented:
    Another post which rather inclines me to watch Servant x Service.

    Like

  2. Zephuros November 12, 2013 at 17:14

    I like Servant x Service!!!
    Faaaaaaaaaaar alot more than Working!! xDDDD
    imo the first few episodes weren’t really joke-cracking yet, because I’m not used to the character
    but after 2-3 episodes, I crack up hard on every episode, especially ones involving Megumi LOLs
    although I like this comedy very much, it still hasn’t beat my no.1 comedy Nichijou ><"

    Like

Please provide feedback!

