The Infinite Zenith

Where insights on anime, games, academia and life dare to converge

Happy New Year 2014!

Because my location’s time zone lags behind the rest of the world, I’ve only gotten around to saying so now: Happy New Year! I’d like to thank the readers, who have made 2013 a remarkable year for this blog by providing a 12-month 2014 Girls und Panzer Calendar, and I’d like to wish everyone a productive, meaningful and enjoyable 2014.

My resolutions this year are a little more muted: I resolve to make the absolute best of any situation and give it my all such that I have no regrets at the end, no matter which direction the future takes me. I also resolve to never lose sight of the bigger picture, and keep in mind this big picture whenever things become difficult, such that I may always have focus and direction. From a more casual side, I resolve to finish all of the games I’ve purchased before buying any more, and to do the same for the stack of books I bought over the course of 2013. 2014 will be a pivotal year, so it’s time to take a deep breath and step into a new start.

5 responses to “Happy New Year 2014!

  1. Zephuros January 1, 2014 at 00:35

    I got Code Geass and Valrave’s 2014 calendar… (pdf…lols), waiting for SnK’s
    anyways you’re not as slow as Hawaii! it’s still somewhat 6pm there of Dec 31 xD!
    I know we try to do that..(finishing games/anime before getting more), but then it’s just always added to you no matter what .3.” (unless you shut yourself in, doesn’t communicate with anyone, and stop looking or reading for new things and spend your whole day with what you have/old things… in which I won’t be doing that anymore!)

    Like

    • infinitezenith January 2, 2014 at 17:27

      It’s about finding a balance, and I like to think that I’ve reached that balance🙂 That said, I love the feeling that I have a stockpile of stuff that I can do on a rainy day, and that is in itself, a comforting thought!

      Like

      • Zephuros January 2, 2014 at 21:38

        I’m an extreme person >_<", especially for games.
        I cannot stop playing them unless I finish them completely (or finds a spot where I can stop/be satisfied with it for now), else I can study lols"
        so it's somewhat either study only, or games only most of my time (i can't possible do, ok, game 1 hour a day, read texts 6 hours a day, etc)
        Although I've lately been able to do that with other things (I eat while watching anime..somethin' like that lol" unless I really need to read), just possibly can't do it with games, love it too much (addicted?)
        holiday or not, special day or not, rainy day or not, it's not changing my plans xD, nothing will ever change my plan except one thing: other people that's not me ^^"

        Like

        • infinitezenith January 2, 2014 at 21:41

          I’m the same…for studies. Once I start, I go until I finish or until I’m reasonably satisfied that I understand the materials, which is why I am crazy far behind. This term has been easier somewhat, so I’ve been able to watch some anime, although as in your case, I typically have a sandwich, bowl of noodles or calzone in hand when watching said anime🙂

          Like

          • Zephuros January 2, 2014 at 21:51

            We will be having license exams next year, labs in the next next year, then it’ll be clinic time blah blah blah
            (ok.. maybe looking this positively I might have time for my hobbies again once I reach the clinic years..? I might not have to wait to come back to my hobbies before I grad..lols?)
            There’s been schedule changes in semesters here because the whole country’s system is changing for school and college, so I got time off studying (though of course, this also means graduating slower than initially too >_>a) but whatevs, it gives me more time to study and spend my time on my hobbies before heavy stuffs next year :D”
            Yep, we all do that (which is why my japanese listening skills have boost so much in the past few years, while the other declines so much.. ha ha.. since I wasn’t able to continue my japanese after entering college >_>a)
            Though in my case, on days I can’t spend anytime on my hobbies, I listen to my mp3 songs while walking to classes too (well I love music, especially OST) great way to relax without sacrificing any of the time meant for studying xD”

            Like

Please provide feedback!

