The Infinite Zenith

Where insights on anime, games, academia and life dare to converge

Chinese New Year: Year of the Horse

Today marks the beginning of the Year of the Horse under the Lunar Calendar; and throughout Hong Kong, China and Southeast Asia, as well as most Chinese communities outside of China, celebrations are taking place. On the last day of the year before Lunar New Year, families gather for a banquet of sorts. In Hong Kong, the foods are chosen to symbolise happiness, longevity and prosperity: it’s something I look forward to every year, alongside the niángāo made for relatives and friends. The lion dance and fireworks are common after the New Year itself has arrived, and this weekend, there will be a Lion Dance at the city center to celebrate the Year of the Horse. Next year is the Year of the Goat, my sign, and as such, this year, I will take a look at my own forecasts for 2014; while they are contrary to my alignment with the sciences, they are somewhat fun to read.

  • To all esteemed readers, 祝您們恭喜發財, 龍馬精神, 萬事如意, 馬到成功! For those who see boxes, you may read that as “Have a prosperous 2014!”. Of course, installing a Chinese language pack should rectify it. My regular programming will resume after this post: I’ve got Battlefield 3‘s “Thunder Run” and “Fear No Evil”, a final reflection for Upotte!! (and the OVA), a reflection for The Pilot and The Princess, and Saki Zenkoku-hen‘s second episode talk in preparation. Those should be done before Valentines’ Day if I can balance my academic and personal schedules.

According to the horoscopes, 2014 is projected to be a solid year in all respects. Goats are supposed to make improvements financially and in terms of their career this year. Regarding health, goats might be a little less lucky, and the opposite is said to hold true wherever love is concerned. As far as I am concerned, 2014 is going to be pivotal as far as career goes. I will drop by once Gundam Unicorns finale comes out, to give a full talk on this blog’s future as I move into the next stage of my life; at present, I’m still uncertain of which aspirations will succeed, and which ones will be unsuccessful, hence my decision to delay the talk until things become a little more concrete. In the health department, I took a minor sprain to the wrist whilst lifting back in November, so I’m aching slightly when I lift (talk about lucky guesses). Lastly, I do not feel particularly inclined to talk about love and relationships at present because it lies outside my domain of expertise. I will say that I am a little nervous about this element, though; even if forecasts say (consistently) that single people may see the start of a new romance, I find that horoscopes are analogous to carpet bombing a region for a single bunker as far as accuracy goes. Love and romance are directed by personalities and a bit of random chance, rather than the way the stars align, so it is something that is more or less NP-hard and therefore, I shouldn’t think too much about it.

3 responses to “Chinese New Year: Year of the Horse

  1. Zephuros February 2, 2014 at 00:03

    Got some chinese new year money from my family and cousins, will be able to get two Macross Frontier model kits this month :D””””

    Like

    • infinitezenith February 2, 2014 at 11:54

      I’m probably going to end up turning all of that money into a bank deposit, and take a small fraction of it to buy the fifth volume of The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan😛

      Like

      • Wild Goose February 2, 2014 at 18:52

        My chinese new year money is going to new glasses. Close range is fine, but I start having trouble reading road signs. ^_^;;

        Like

Please provide feedback!

