The Infinite Zenith

Where insights on anime, games, academia and life dare to converge

Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate OVA Reflection

This is the greatest baking of all time.

This is my four-hundredth post! It’s been a week since Yuuki Oujima has won the student council election: the Food Research Club is preparing a party to celebrate Yuuki’s victory, and Chisato yearns to learn basic cooking skills from Yuuki. However, Satsuki wishes for Yuuki to take on the responsibilities of the presidency early on and arrives with paperwork for him to look over. With Chisato and Satsuki at odds as to who gets to spend time with Yuuki, some juniors arrive and decide that this dispute should be settled with a baking competition. After Chisato and Satsuki complete their baked products, Yuuki decides it’s a draw, and everyone spends the remainder of the day enjoying the sweets the two have made.

  • I should also note that at this point, I have yet to actually see the Infinite Stratos OVA (the one to the first season) and talk about it. I’ll get around to that in due course. My primary objective now is to finalise my Battlefield 3 campaign talk, and get around to showcasing some of the cool stuff I’ve done in Battlefield 3‘s multiplayer since last time. A Bioshock Infinite reflection will probably follow somewhere in March, and on April 6, I will showcase some of the things I’ve done in Battlefield: Bad Company 2‘s multiplayer, on the one-year anniversary of having picked up the game from a Steam Sale for five dollars.

  • Guest characters from Ima Sugu Oniichan ni Imouto da tte Iitai! make an appearance in this episode: we have, from left to right, Mao Shigemori, Matsuri Nanase and Ayumu Mitani. Ima Sugu Oniichan ni Imouto da tte Iitai! (I Want to Say to my Older Brother That I’m His Younger Sister Now!) is a visual novel developed by a sub-group of Sprite, who originally made Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate.

  • I suppose one could say that this OVA is like a crossover: I don’t quite recall seeing Ima Sugu Oniichan ni Imouto da tte Iitai! characters during the regular season, although that could simply be because I’m not paying enough attention.

  • Despite having no cooking skills, Ayumu and Mao lend Chisato assistance to bake cookies. Occasionally, Yuuki shouts suggestions from the outside to prevent things from going too far south. On a totally unrelated note, now that I’ve done this review, it’s time for me to catch up in The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan, since the English volume was just released where I am.

  • How new was the release, one asks? Well, let’s say the copies had just arrived and were still shrink-wrapped; I had to make a request to obtain my copy from the store’s back because it wasn’t even available on the shelves yet. Returning back to Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate To the right is Kimika Haida, a class president in her school. She is voiced by Youko Hikasa, who also provides Houki and Mio’s voices. For the competition, Satsuki aims to bake a Western-style cake.

  • The sign Yuuki is wearing says “prize”, bringing to mind a sign Yozora wore in Haganai for plagiarising a script in the second season. Shortly after, I used photoshop to make an English copy of that image to get in the spirits of the honours thesis a year ago and promote having consistent citations in the appropriate places.

  • Yuuki presents an Oujima roll, a specialty of his, to settle both Chisato and Satsuki’s spirits. Yuuki mass produced these confectioneries for his election, while in Mifuyu’s company. Long ago, I might’ve considered Mifuyu’s ultrabook to be cutting edge, but at present, tablet computers are everywhere, and this year, I’m focused on improving the usability of the iOS version of the lab’s physiology software.

  • Satsuki’s reaction to tasting the Oujima roll elicits surprise from everyone else, suggesting this was the first time she’d tried one. Despite appearing as a serious, focused character during the original series, she’s a little more relaxed in this episode.

  • If memory serves, the “official” couple in Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate is Yuuki and Chisato; this was made clear during the TV series’ finale, although the OVA shows Satsuki as still trying to spend more time with Yuuki, precipitating the OVA’s events. I wonder, though: I don’t think I’ve seen a talk on this OVA anywhere else online. Is this the only review online with screenshots?

  • Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate stands alongside Ano Hana Yuyushiki and Puella Magi Madoka Magica as anime I finished during the summer of 2013, much as how CLANNAD characterises summer 2012, and how summer 2011 had Sora no WotoThe Disappearance of Suzumiya Haruhi and Broken Blade.

I have not seen Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate for nearly half a year now: the last time I watched it, I was waiting for a few friends to arrive at a pub just north of campus. It was a beautiful summer evening and felt like the edge of time: on such evenings, I stayed after hours to continue polishing my software, but with the lab empty, I could afford to watch anime such as Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate. However, for one reason or another, this OVA had slipped between the cracks, and so, I forgot to watch it. However, the opportunity presented itself a few weeks ago, and I was able to watch it after hours at the lab. This time around, I was waiting for an exam rather than spending an evening with friends. The OVA is fitting for the series: after a hectic uphill battle in the elections, things are much more laid-back this time around, making use of character interactions to drive the humour present in some of the scenes. Because the OVA is focused on a cooking competition, the events never leave the Food Research Club’s room, resulting in a prima facie anticlimactic ending to Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate. However, this mood exists exists simply because all of the excitement was in the TV series proper, and so, this episode represents an appropriate, low-profile close to the series.

Please provide feedback!

