The Infinite Zenith

Where insights on anime, games, academia and life dare to converge

Fall 2015 Anime

With just a little more than half of August past, the shadows gradually creep back into the world as days shorten and the air cools. I’ll need to put the finishing touches on the first prototype simulator for my graduate thesis and consider future directions soon, and take advantage of the relative calm in the summer to enjoy some of the culinary arts of my city before term hits. Autumn is approaching, and with it, eyes turn towards what anime will be offered during Fall 2015. A cursory glance at the chart shows a modest diversity of anime that could merit watching: immediately, there are two shows I am almost certainly to follow, and four OVAs that will be much welcomed. In addition, although they probably won’t be accessible (and therefore reviewed) until some point in 2016, there are also three movies that will be airing during this period.

  • Clicking on the anime chart will being up the full-sized version, optimised for display on 1080p displays. I’ll return to update and replace the chart if there are any significant inclusions or omissions, and in the meantime, I’m curious to know what you, the readers, are looking most forwards to.

For Fall 2015, I will be following Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu Ka? without question: it quickly became one of my favourite slice-of-life anime after I watched the first season last summer, and the second season will certainly bring back the setting and characters that I’ve grown fond of. I’m also likely to watch Yuru Yuri San☆Hai on a weekly basis. Other anime of interest include Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-blood Orphans and Sakurako-san no Ashimoto ni wa Shitai ga Umatteiru. From the OVA end, the second volume of Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin will be releasing in October, providing a thrilling account of Artesia and Casval’s time on Earth. As well, both Hibike! Euphonium and The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-Chan will be getting OVAs, and Tamayura: Graduation Photo‘s third volume will release in November. Last but not least, the anime movies are looking quite strong this season: Girls und Panzer premiers in November, and statistics suggest that a home release could come out as early as March-April 2016. I’m also looking forwards to Kokoro ga Sakebitagatterunda and Wake Up, Girls! Seishun no Kage. With a handful of anime, a collection of OVAs and a few movies that won’t make it across the Pacific for another year, Fall 2015 looks to be a season where I am following a fair number of shows, but as I’ve noted in earlier season previews, it’s no longer feasible for me to blog about so many anime per season. Consequently, there will only be one anime I will blog without question. While this list may change, I’m unlikely to blog more than two more anime this season.

Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu Ka

Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu Ka?, or Is The Order a Rabbit? (abbreviated GochiUsa) has earned its place as an anime that I will blog about for Fall 2015: its first season impressed for its setting and capitalisation of unique characters to present a story about their respective beverages’ attributes. The first season follows Cocoa Hoto’s adventures and life as a waitress at the Rabbit House Cafe, where she works with Chino Kafuu and Rize Tedeza to finance her accommodations while attending high school.

  • GochiUsa will be blogged in the same manner as Non Non Biyori Repeat and Kantai Collection: there will be a total of five posts, one for the first episode, and then one each every three episodes. Despite its seemingly simple premise, GochiUsa proved to be something that could initiate a surprising variety in discussions with the proper mindset. I realise that, given that the first season had been well-received, that larger anime blogs out there will also pick this one up on an episodic basis, so I need not say that I’m blogging about this anime because no one else will. However, I’ll nonetheless aim to provide unique, insightful discussions about GochiUsa in the manner as I’ve done previously.

2 responses to “Fall 2015 Anime

  1. johnkutensky August 17, 2015 at 09:22

    I’m really looking forward to the new Lupin III. I loved the last series and its associated movie. Other than that, Ore ga Ojou-sama Gakkou &c. sounds interesting, as does Onsen Yousei Hakone-Chan. I’ll have to go watch the first season of Owari no Seraph, because the description is pretty intriguing.

    I might check out Kowabon and Sakurako-san no Ashimoto ni wa Shitai ga Umatteiru, as well. I don’t usually watch much horror or mystery anime, but I’m willing to give them a shot. I admit, I like anime with a death theme, and I like bones, so maybe I’ll like it.

    Like

Please provide feedback!

