The Infinite Zenith

Where insights on anime, games, academia and life dare to converge

Four-year Anniversary!

“I’ve learned time management, organization and I have priorities.” —Tory Burch

If I thought last year was bad, this year is no better with respect to recalling this blog’s fourth anniversary now; we recall that October 17 is when I kicked things off here for the first time with the obligatory “Hello World” post, so if I had intended to publish an anniversary post on time, it would’ve been Saturday. Of course, I had been busy on Saturday, as I came into the lab to work on my simulation further. After I reached a reasonable stopping point, I published the talk about Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu Ka??, and proceeded to forget about the blog’s anniversary. However, I’ve not forgotten entirely, and that counts for something: between the October of last year and the October of this year, things here have not deviated too greatly. Posts about anime and games have been published semi-regularly, and my conversations with some of the readers have been quite meaningful. There’s definitely a joy in blogging, but as of late, I sometimes feel that putting out the next post is becoming something of a drag. For the most part, though, blogging is still fun, allowing me to bring a unique combination of analysis, discussion and wit to the table as I articulate my impressions about an anime or game, although I’ve striving to maintain better time management and consequently, began to write about fewer shows as the seasons wore on. So, I’d like to take this time to outline what the game-plan for this blog is in the upcoming year, such that you, the reader, will have an approximation of what’s going on for the foreseeable future.

  • I’m already three episodes behind to each of the four anime I am watching on the side this season, and have yet to finish several games I picked up last year. On the plus side, my thesis work is going fine, I’m on top of my grading and should be on schedule to wrap up the implementation by late December to begin writing the methods, results and discussion section to my thesis. てへぺろ, I suppose: other anime fans will chastise me, but I’d rather be six months behind in anime and games than six months behind in my work (#^.^#) ハズカシー.

I’m more than halfway through my graduate studies at present, and are striving to graduate before this blog reaches its five-year milestone. During this time, I will need to polish up my project and begin drafting out some publications, as well as the thesis paper itself. The sheer number of upcoming tasks is non-trivial and will demand my full attention. With that being said, I will still drop by on occasion to write about things: I’ve said previously that blogging frequency may decline, but curiously enough, I’ve always found time to get my work done, keep up with a set of anime in a season, make progress in the games I’ve got and on top of that, post the occasional blog entry. So, my posting frequency will continue as it has for the past year. I’ll likely continue to blog about a single anime in the “once-every-three-episodes” format (as I have with Kantai CollectionNon Non Biyori and Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu Ka??), or else blog about a maximum of two shows per season (depending on the season), and focus any remaining posts for editorial-type contents. In the interests of efficiency, I will no longer be accepting recommendations from readers for post contents in the present as I have previously.  With that being said, I hope that you, the reader, will continue to find useful the content that I’ve published here. To keep things going, I’ll be doing a talk on Tamayura: Sotsugyou Shashin‘s second volume, “Echoes”, in the very near future, following up with a talk on Call of Duty: Black Ops and the Yuru Yuri summer OVAs.

5 responses to “Four-year Anniversary!

  1. ninetybeats October 21, 2015 at 05:05

    I have seen many blogs come and go during the few years I’ve been writing. It’s good to see you’re still going strong.

    Like

    • infinitezenith October 22, 2015 at 17:58

      I’ll continue writing in the foreseeable future. If I were to stop blogging or slow down dramatically, there’d be a large going-away post that I’d publish…for courtesy’s sake😉

      Like

  2. allthefujoshiunite October 29, 2015 at 14:57

    Hello and congrats for your 4th year anniversary! I nominated you for the Free Spirit Award (you can avoid it if you’re not responding these awards). You can check out my nomination post here: https://allthefujoshiunite.wordpress.com/2015/10/29/void/

    Like

    • infinitezenith October 29, 2015 at 16:43

      Thanks for your words of encouragement! I do participate in blog awards: they’re rather fun. The only caveat is I’m the ultimate procrastinator when it comes to writing those posts (as a fellow graduate student, I’m sure you understand!), but I’ll try to find an opening to write it in the near future (so, before 2015 is done).

      Like

Please provide feedback!

