The Infinite Zenith

Where insights on anime, games, academia and life dare to converge

Spring 2016 Anime and Leap Year 2016

“There was no such thing as a fair fight. All vulnerabilities must be exploited.” – Cary Caffrey

In the blink of an eye, winter has passed by quite quickly, and we’re now around a month from spring, a season best known for rebirth, when the landscape comes alive as trees bud and flowers begin blooming. This also means that I’m now past the halfway point into the semester, which has been busier than any term I’ve experienced (as my previous posts incessantly attest). Consequently, Aokana is the only Winter 2016 anime that I’m up to date with; the others, I’ve not even reached the three episode mark yet. However, while my anime situation is a little bleak, the same is thankfully not true for my other commitments. Looking ahead to the Spring 2016 offerings, there are two television series that catch my eye: Hai-Furi and Flying Witch. In the movies and OVA department, Girls und Panzer Der Film occupies the spotlight (along with two new OVAs that are to accompany the movie’s home release), with Tamayura ~Graduation Photo~ also being of great interest. This lighter spring season for me will be gratefully accepted, as I continue to gear up in preparation for my thesis defense.

  • Even with a Retina display, one would be hard-pressed to try and read the text from the image here, so as I’ve done for all previous season preview posts, clicking on it will bring up the full resolution version, which is optimised for 1080p displays.

As I have done for the Winter 2016 season, I will be blogging about at most two shows for the “after three” reviews, and for the whole-season discussions, a maximum of four shows will be covered. At the time of writing, this won’t be too insurmountable a challenge, given that there’s only two anime on my radar thus far. Quite similarly, I may also pick up and drop shows based on how they turn out after three episodes have passed. Now that the usual boilerplate is done, this spring 2016 preview will differ from previous seasons in that, because today is a leap day, I’ll go off-mission to talk real briefly about said leap day. Four years ago, I wrote a simple function that returns a boolean value for whether or not a year was a leap year. I’ve ported that psuedocode to Java code and gave it proper syntax highlighting below:


public boolean isLeapYear(int year)
{
  if ((year % 4 == 0) && (year % 100 != 0) || (year % 400 == 0))
  {
    return true;
  }

  else
  {
    return false;
  }
}

It’s a little surprising to reflect on the fact that four years have elapsed so quickly. Four years ago during the winter term, I was enrolled in introductory biochemistry, introductory cell and molecular biology and bioinformatics. That semester proved to be reasonably enjoyable, although it also left behind numerous memories: I fondly remember days where my classes ended before noon. As the semester drew to a close, I would come home earlier to study for exams and watched Angel Beats! during this time. So much has happened since then, and it will be interesting (as well as intimidating) to see where things will go over the next four years. Now, we return to regular programming.

Hai-Furi

After plate tectonics resulted in major portions of landmass receding beneath the oceans, Japan created a new initiative to save the remaining nations. To this end, the Blue Mermaids were founded to keep the seas traversable, and aspiring to be Blue Mermaids themselves, childhood friends Misaki Akeno and China Moeka enroll at Yokosuka’s Marine high school with the shared goal of turning their dreams into reality.

  • The combination of moé elements and a unique world ripe with opportunity for world-building means that Hai-Furi could be similar to Sora no Woto in terms of atmosphere, exploring the consequences of a world following major tectonic activity through the viewpoints of two optimistic youth. Moreover, while the premise only describes two of the protagonists, there do seem to be a large number of characters, all of whom might play a role later on in the anime.

Flying Witch

Aomori is a northern region in Japan blessed by nature’s bountiful beauty, although it is here that bizarre events begin occurring. This brings 15-year-old Makoto Kowata, a witch, to the region. Leaving Yokohama with Chito, her black cat, she takes up accommodations with her relatives in Aomori and begins investigating these mysteries while training to become a more capable witch.

  • Aomori is, in my opinion, one of the more mysterious places in Japan for its relatively low population density and remoteness. In short, it appears to be the perfect place for a mystery to take place, and admittedly, I am interested in Flying Witch on the rather superficial basis that I would be quite interested to see a fictional depiction of a prefecture otherwise not widely used in most anime.

11 responses to “Spring 2016 Anime and Leap Year 2016

  1. Edward March 1, 2016 at 03:49

    I’m also interested in following these two anime. For Flying Witch, Makoto is described as “somewhat aimless”, so I’m interested in how the story will develop her character. For Hai-Furi, my interest is in how the anime will tell the story of the main characters chasing their dream.

    Like

    • infinitezenith March 1, 2016 at 18:10

      Are there any other anime in the spring 2016 season that catch your eye?

      Like

      • Edward March 3, 2016 at 04:14

        There are others, more than I have time to follow. I’ll either keep an eye on MAL forum comments on these anime as the episodes air or just check reviews at the end of the season:
        1. Kuromukuro – PA Works worked on this, so I’m interested. However, the same studio is no guarantee of the same overall quality as previous good series, and the mecha genre isn’t a favourite of mine.

        2. Unhappy – A story about students with “bad karma” in the same class. If the focus is on how the students support each other and grow, I think I’d like it. If it focuses on gags, which it might because of its comedy tag, then I probably won’t like it as much.

        3. Kuma Miko – A story about a shrine maiden and her spirit guardian. It reminds me of Gingitsune, which I liked.

        4. Mayoiga – The description that the cast members are hiding some pain in their hearts and are going to a supposed “utopian” yet desolate village made me think of Angel Beats!, which I liked a lot.

        I’m also interested in the Tamayura movies. I loved the Tamayura series and decided to watch the movies close together rather than seasons apart so I haven’t watched any of them yet. Now that the last one is coming out, I’ll watch them. Eventually.

        Like

        • infinitezenith March 3, 2016 at 09:42

          It seems like there’s always more anime than time. Kuromukuro looks quite interesting…not sure how I missed that one. I hear it’s a P.A. Works 15th anniversary special. With that being said, P.A. Works’ quality does seem to fluctuate and they’ve been seen as dropping the ball among more vocal community members as of late. I’m a mecha fan, as well, so P.A. Works will have to do something impressive for me to consider watching Kuromukuro (the bar is presently Gundam Unicorn).

          I’m also looking forwards to Tamayura: Graduation Photo. I think the fourth movie was delayed to April from its original release date on February 20. The staff mentioned that it was motivated by a wish to make the finale much higher in quality because it acts as a finale for all of Tamayura. It’ll be quite fitting for me, as I’m experiencing the same (albeit at a different stage of my education), and so, I’m quite looking forwards to the finale.

          Like

  2. vimitsu March 6, 2016 at 14:03

    Er, your algorithm is not correct. The expression (year % 4 == 0) && (year % 100 == 0) && (year % 400 == 0) evaluates to true only if ALL of the conditions are met: if a year is divisible by 4 AND 100 AND 400. The expression can be simplified to (year % 400 == 0), since numbers that are divisible by 400 are also divisible by 4 and 100. Consequently only years that are multiples of 400 will cause the algorithm to return true.

    We can derive an algorithm for determining whether a given year is a leap year by examining the conditions that define a leap year:
    1) The year is divisible by 4
    2) The year is NOT divisible by 100 OR the year is divisible by 400

    To simplify things, let’s represent the statement in (1) as A and the statement(s) in (2) as B OR C. We can write this as a logical expression:
    A AND (B OR C)

    According to the laws of distribution for propositional logic[ref 1], this is equivalent to
    (A AND B) OR (A AND C)

    (A AND C) can be simplified because it consists of the statements (year is divisible by 4) AND (year is divisible by 400). All years that are divisible by 400 are obviously divisible by 4, so this part can be simplified to (year is divisible by 400), or C.

    Returning to our original expression, we now replace (A AND C) with C:
    (A AND B) OR C

    And we can plug the original statements back in:
    ((year is divisible by 4) and (year is NOT divisible by 100)) OR (year is divisible by 400)

    Using the modulus function, we can implement this in Java as:
    public boolean isLeapYear(int year)
    {
    return (year % 4 == 0 && year % 100 != 0) || year % 400 == 0;
    }

    Q.E.D. Now your blog has a mathematical proof. ^ _ ^ Unless there was another one, and I haven't seen enough of this blog to know that.

    References
    [1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Propositional_calculus#Basic_and_derived_argument_forms

    Like

    • infinitezenith March 6, 2016 at 14:33

      It seems like someone’s taking away a good amount of knowledge from their introduction to computer science and formal logic courses🙂

      With respect to the error, you saw the conflicted variant of this page. WordPress sometimes does that when you edit from multiple devices. I’ve restored it to the latest revision and discarded the drafts lingering on my other devices so the page displays the right algorithm (it took me a few tries to get the code-tagging syntax for WordPress right).

      Like

      • vimitsu March 6, 2016 at 15:21

        I forgot to post a more intuitive explanation first, so I’ll do that here. The simplest case of a leap year is a year that is divisible by 400. For all other cases, the year has to be divisible by 4, and not by 100, hence (year is divisible by 400) OR ((year is divisible by 4) AND (year is NOT divisible by 100)).

        It seems that I got carried away there. You do know what you’re talking about, so, um, that long comment was unnecessary.

        Like

        • infinitezenith March 6, 2016 at 15:36

          I’m going to steer the conversation in a completely unrelated direction and ask which of the Spring 2016 anime catch your eye (if any), as well as whether or not you’re watching any of the shows of this season.

          Like

          • vimitsu March 6, 2016 at 21:29

            Since last fall, I’ve moved away from watching anime and more toward more “productive” activities (or at least I think they are) like programming, although most of my day is more wasteful than productive. In fact, I think I cut down on anime around the time I stopped blogging.

            Speaking of programming, I just realized that what I did up there was redundant. I guess I didn’t learn anything from those courses after all.

            Like

            • infinitezenith March 6, 2016 at 22:30

              I wouldn’t discount anime as a waste of time provided that it is taken in moderation (in excess, I’ve seen it sap people of motivation and even cost them their degrees/work): I predominantly watch an episode or two a day, during lunch hour or evenings after I finish the day’s tasks.

              Otherwise, as evidence in my frequent allusions to my schedule, things have been impossibly busy as I experience what graduate school truly entails. I’ve been working on three different conference publications since the year started, on top of presenting my research to the folks visiting the lab, my TA duties, thesis paper, research and projects for my reminding courses. To put things mildly, it’s kicking my ass, and I wonder if my posts’ quality suffer as a consequence.

              Like

  3. medievalotaku March 13, 2016 at 16:08

    Flying Witch looks like the most interesting offer of the next season along with Shingeki no Bahamut and the Girls und Panzer der Film. Looks like a good season to catch up on some old shows.

    Like

Please provide feedback!

