The Infinite Zenith

Where insights on anime, games, academia and life dare to converge

A Milestone at the Five Year Anniversary

“Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.” —John Quincy Adams

I’ve been sitting here, staring at WordPress’ “edit post” screen for the past thirty minutes, trying to think of something to say for this blog’s five year anniversary. It makes sense to begin by thanking all of my readers; without your support and feedback, it is unlikely that I would have continued to find the motivation to continue writing for this period: five years is quite a bit of time, and looking through some of the older posts in this blog, it’s quite astonishing as to how much has happened in the past five years: I’ve finished two degrees, flown around the world to present my research and have begun working now as a member of society. I’ve stared down and defeated the MCAT, had my heart broken twice, went from a probationary to fully qualified driver, and wrote more journal and conference papers than I’ve cared to count. I’ve also become bit of a poutine connoisseur and have driven out to the towns over just to try a small restaurant’s poutine. Concurrently, this blog has grown from its humble origin as a backup website for me to write short articles: I’ve now retired my old website (itself approaching its ninth birthday) in favour of the infrastructure that WordPress provides. In reading some of my previous articles, I wondered whether or not I would be able to continue blogging, and it seems that, for better or worse, I’m sticking around in the foreseeable future — even the increased workload of being a graduate student (and time spent in pubs) appears to have done little to alter this blog’s pacing. With this in mind, if I do decide to lower posting frequency, I’ll simply let the readers know.

  • Five years is a lot of time, although it’s also blazed by in the blink of an eye. While I sometimes do find myself wondering what things will be like five, or even ten years down the line, one of the bigger things I’ve learned is to enjoy the present, as well. This lesson is something that I’m ever-mindful of, and it is in part a consequence of watching so many Iyashikei that I’ve begun slowing myself down to take in a moment more completely.

0761686b7810b1ee2b6430bf337d5e7b

  • If and when I’m asked, as to how I manage to find time to blog in conjunction with everything else I do (work, cook, clean, lift, read and game), I do not think I can offer a concrete answer in that I’m not too sure, myself. However, I imagine that good time management comes from having a seemingly contradictory combination of both being able to plan well in advance for something and adapt to roll with a moment whenever things change. In this manner, one can make the most of every moment, whether it’s writing code, doing a kata or kicking back and breathing in the autumn air at the top of a hill, without overwhelming themselves.

So, five years after I kicked off the Infinite Mirai with the obligatory Hello World! post and followed up with my first post (a five-minute discussion of the K-On! Movie trailer), this blog now rocks some seven hundred and thirty posts. There’s more than a thousand comments (something I never thought would happen), and the built-in anti-spam system has defeated over 33000 spam comments. The average post takes around two hours to write from start to finish, and the largest post to date is my Girls und Panzer: Der Film discussion, with ninety-five images and some eleven thousand words. The most popular post, based on view count, is a location hunt talk on The Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi. Said post was made after a request from a reader who wanted a comparison of real-world locations against those seen in The Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi and but lacked the means to view sites in the Shift JIS format, so I rebuilt the page in a more user-friendly manner and soon, got more requests to do location posts. These are just some of the numbers surrounding this blog, and moving forwards, this time, I’m not too sure what the future’s going to look like. I am certain that I will continue writing for the near future: I’ve to finish Brave Witches and Kimi no Na Wa, as well as Gundam Origin‘s finale episode. Again, I’d like to thank everyone for their support and feedback — you readers and fellow bloggers mean the world to me, and with that being said, let’s get it!

9 responses to “A Milestone at the Five Year Anniversary

  1. Jusuchin (Military Otaku) October 17, 2016 at 22:15

    You give readers a bit of the credit. You write insightful articles that makes us come back for more, and when you yourself was just a few years old in blogging, it was enough of an inspiration for a certain military otaku to continue with his.

    And now that I realize it, I’m in my 4th year of blogging and never bothered about Blog Anniversaries.

    Liked by 1 person

    • infinitezenith October 18, 2016 at 21:11

      It’s always a pleasant surprise to learn that this blog has inspired others to continue writing, and I hope you continue to do so; I rather enjoy reading different perspectives on a particular show.

      A bit of trivia: my anniversary posts stem from this blog’s first birthday. At the time, I was surprised that I was able to last a year, as most of my posts were short articles on a range of topics encompassing anything from Team Fortress 2 weapons and Sim City 4 tips to extremely short OVA reviews that did not fit on my old website. In the following year, I slowly realised that I enjoyed WordPress’ interface and infrastructure rather more than my old Webs.com site. The years passed, and before I knew it, it’s been somewhat of a tradition for me to write these anniversary posts. If you’re curious, you can explore the site’s archives to see just how different things are now (especially posts between October 2011 and October 2012)😉

      Like

  2. Edward October 18, 2016 at 05:17

    Congratulations on reaching the five year anniversary for the Infinite Mirai and reaching achievements that you never imagined when you started! Thank you for your articles. As Jusuchin said, your articles are insightful. They also show your interest in the subject, which makes them engaging and a pleasure to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    • infinitezenith October 18, 2016 at 21:20

      Thanks for being a reader and for taking the time to provide feedback🙂 There is a certain joy in writing, and if I may indulge in another anecdote, a long time ago, I was a terrible writer, to the point where my high school English instructors wondered if I were ESL. After one of my friends introduced me to Gundam 00, I started a website to write out my thoughts. I found that I could use a similar style in my English classes, and soon realised that writing was highly fun. When I had the same instructor in my senior year of high school, he’d wondered how my writing had transformed in the space of two years. I suppose that blogging is my way of practising writing, and it’s been a fantastic way to engage and converse with other readers.

      Like

      • Edward October 20, 2016 at 03:40

        That’s a nice anecdote. That sounds like quite a turnaround, and what a fortunate it was for us, your readers. How much do you think your blogging helped you when it came to writing your thesis and papers for your research?

        By the way, I just realised that the top image you used for this post reminds me of Aokana. In particular it reminds me of the picture of Asuka and Misaki that is shown at the end of the closing credits of each episode.

        Like

        • infinitezenith October 23, 2016 at 07:54

          I’ve joked that my blog and thesis paper read very similarly, but I think that my writing a blog contributed substantially to making me comfortable with writing in general, which carries over to grant proposals, papers and the thesis itself.

          Like

  3. cloudst12 October 18, 2016 at 07:15

    Congrats on 5 years. Man, time really does pass fast doesn’t it? It only feels like yesterday, I remember commenting on your gochiusa post and you gave a reply.

    Yeah, it’s been a lot of fun since then. Thank you for the posts.🙂

    I think I came a little late to your blog. To be honest, I like how honest your writing is in your blog. And you cover anime’s that normally people wouldn’t bother doing episodic reviews for so, that’s a plus side to your blog too.

    I wonder aloud if you’ll do location hunts again. I’m thinking Kimi No Na Wa might be your next project.

    I hope that we keep in touch even when your blogging volume slows down.

    But until then,

    また ね

    Liked by 1 person

    • infinitezenith October 18, 2016 at 21:34

      It definitely does feel like last year was yesterday; I was perusing Memorial Blend: “GochiUsa” Second Season TV Animation Guidebook and when I reached the episode summary section, I vividly recall what I was doing when I’d written the posts on GochiUsa‘s second season. I was enjoying my penultimate term in my Master’s programme for the fact that I had no classes at the time, and when we fast forwards a year, it’s a little bewildering to know that it’s over now.

      I don’t think you came too late into the game: the content here in 2011 and 2012 represents me still trying to find my footing and style. It was not until 2013 where I began to write (more or less) as I do now.

      For the location hunt posts, the existing ones come from requests made by folks on Skype, Facebook messages, or even email, when readers link me a folder of real-world images and ask me to build an English-language post for the page. I look through it, go through the anime and then write the posts, using Google-fu to come up with enough content to make the post interesting. I’ll be looking into Your Name once the home releases come out. Unlike my other location posts, which lack a proper bibliography, I’ll see to it that this time, I actually do have citations (my Google-fu turns up dry when I tried them previously on the supplied images): it does feel strange not to explain where the images come from.

      I’ll definitely be around for the foreseeable future: in 2015, I said that I would last until the Girls und Panzer Der Film post was written. Prior to that, in 2014, I remarked that I would call it quits when I finished writing for Gundam Unicorn‘s finale. I must be fairly poor at predicting my future, or else have more time than expected, but in both cases, it seems that neither held true for long, so there will be opportunity to converse. Thanks again for reading and contributing to the discussions🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Flower October 23, 2016 at 14:46

    Congrats sir!

    What else be said? ^^

    Liked by 1 person

Please provide feedback!

