The Infinite Zenith

Where insights on anime, games, academia and life dare to converge

Chinese New Year: Year of the Rooster

祝你們雞年吉祥,身体健康,心想事成,新年快樂! 2017 is the Year of the Rooster (although in Chinese, it can also be translated as the rather less-glorious “Year of the Chicken”). According to the calendar, this is an earlier Chinese New Year, coinciding with the first new moon of the winter solstice on the lunar calendar, which occurs in the eleventh month; on the Gregorian calendar, this falls between 21 January and 20 February. As it was the Year of the Monkey last year, this year is the Year of the Rooster: individuals born under this astrological sign are said to be hard workers who enjoy being in crowds and physical activity. Ironically, their luck is the weakest during their own years. With that being said, these traits are so general that almost anyone can identify with them (although, in my case, I am more of an introvert who prefers my books and the company of a few to crowds and parties, for instance). While I do not ardently believe in astrological elements to the same extent as I would the scientific method and the laws of science, I nonetheless find them quite entertaining to read. Further to this, the generally broad statements that New Years’ predictions make means that, irrespective of what one’s astrological sign is, hard work, effort and an eye for opportunity means that one is more likely to be able to capitalise on a situation.

  • This year’s Chinese New Year comes a little early, and regular programming resumes Monday with a post about my misadventures in Battlefield 1. Looking ahead to February, I am continuing on with Sora no Woto, although there might be an occasional post here and there about other shows I’m watching. There is a (pleasant) surprise in the works, as well, set for release on Valentines’ Day, that came out of something I picked up on Twitter.

So, what do the Chinese astrologers say about someone of my astrological sign? Apparently, it will be an average year overall, albeit one that can turn out well provided I work hard. In career, I am set to face difficulties that must be come with innovation, and I should be careful with investments. My health also takes a hit, so astrologers suggest that I take more hikes, lift more weights and spend more time outdoors for some fresh air, which I definitely will do, with my complementary Parks Pass having arrived a few weeks ago. So far, this sounds like sage advice: the predictions suggest that I continue living the way I did, working hard and making the most of whatever I am presented with. This year, I also happen to agree with the recommended course of action in the flighty department of relationships: apparently, the stars have a few surprises for me, but it’s suggested that I take things slowly, as well as being careful to make sure no one gets hurt. This is how I operate, so while the forecast for a below-average or average year may be present, I am fairly confident that learning new things, in conjunction to doing what I normally do, will be how I roll for this year. For the present, we will be celebrating with a dinner tonight; an unconventional, albeit enjoyable buffet; yesterday evening, we made a Chinese New Year’s Eve dinner of garlic shrimps (phonetically similar to the sound of laughter in Cantonese) and Chinese mushrooms.

2 responses to “Chinese New Year: Year of the Rooster

  1. Jusuchin (Military Otaku) January 28, 2017 at 12:14

    8 more years for my sign. 32 more years for my sign to match the element.

    Like

    • infinitezenith January 30, 2017 at 22:39

      I see: my sign was two years ago. I’m actually curious to see what the world will be like when it’s my sign once more…so much will happen over the next decade. Hopefully, towards the progression, rather than regression, of our species, and I definitely will be on #TeamProgress.

      Like

Please provide feedback!

